AFL grand final: Hawthorn jubilant after downing Fremantle Dockers

• Hawks defeat Dockers 11.11 (77) to 8.14 (62)
Read Richard Cooke’s minute-by-minute report
In pictures: the best images from the MCG

Hawthorn have held off a Fremantle comeback to clinch their second AFL premiership in six years.

The Hawks won 11.11 (77) to 8.14 (62) in front of 100,007 fans.

Brian Lake – who also won the Norm Smith medal for his performance – starred in defence, to more than justify his recruitment from the Western Bulldogs last off-season, captain Luke Hodge again showed himself one of the AFL’s great big-game performers and Jack Gunston followed his preliminary final heroics with another four-goal haul.

It delivered Hawthorn their first flag since 2008 – making two-time premiership players of 10 members of Saturday’s side, including Shaun Burgoyne, who won a flag with Port Adelaide in 2004.

One of those is Lance Franklin, who was again quiet with one goal in what might have been his last game in Hawthorn colours, as he considers a big-money move to Greater Western Sydney.

It also ensured the Hawks would shake the underachievers tag, after near misses in the past two years – upset by 10 points by Sydney in last year’s grand final and falling three points short of Collingwood in a preliminary final in 2011.

It’s another grand final defeat for Dockers coach Ross Lyon, who led St Kilda to the 2009-10 deciders for two losses and a draw, with Fremantle’s former Saints defender Zac Dawson sharing Lyon’s record of four grand finals without a win. © 2013 Guardian News and Media Limited or its affiliated companies. All rights reserved. | Use of this content is subject to our Terms & Conditions | More Feeds

Link to article:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.